Caramelized Onion and Chicken Quiche

A comic-convection and a little girl’s 6-month birthday. My friend’s little baby completed a whole half year last month, and while the parents had a little family celebration, I decided to bake a little marble loaf because, you know what’s a milestone like this without some cake to go with it?

The same weekend, my sister and her friend talked me into attending Comic-con which was held in Bangalore for the first time last month. So, the latent practical baker in me woke up and thought, I could use the oven to bake both a savory something for lunch at the same time as a loaf cake. Yea-ah ! two birds, one stone and all that.

So that’s how, on a Sunday morning, my kitchen counter saw chaos never seen before. On one burner (I have a 2-burner stove) was chocolate melting in  a double boiler, next to that was a mixing bowl, and on the other burner was my (precious!) cast iron pan with onions caramelizing, next to which was a tart pan with pie dough that was just not coming together.

So anyway, after around 2 hours of mayhem, 1/2 hour of which went into making and re-making the pie dough, I finally completed my prep and cooked up two really good – even if I say so myself- sweet and savory treats.

The cake, which was a banana-chocolate marble loaf, was really good, and I used Dorie Greenspan’s recipe (the number of times I mention her name on the blog, I should be getting paid for the publicity, which of course, she doesn’t need, but anyway).

But for a change, here’s my own (!) recipe for a caramelized onion and chicken quiche which was, despite the time it took to make (damn you pie dough), really really good.

Oh and I should add, the baking two dishes in one oven just did not work out, I use a 28l OTG and this fact just skipped my mind when I decided to bake a 9″ pie and a 8″X4.5″ loaf. Also, in retrospect, the flavors would have mixed and no one really wants to eat a loaf cake that smells of caramelized onion, right?

Caramelized onion and Chicken Quiche:

Pie Dough
Sourced from here

  • Prepare pie dough and bake for around 20 minutes, while you prepare the filling.

Caramelized onion and chicken filling:
Red onions (peeled, large) 3
Chicken breast boneless 2 pieces or 250 gms
Eggs 2
All-purpose flour 2 tsp
Butter 1 tsp
Milk 2-3 tsp
Cream 1/2 cup (I use Amul, 23% fat)
Garlic 2 cloves, minced
Assorted vegetables: Diced carrots, baby corn and peppers
Assorted herbs: Rosemary + Oregano +thyme
Red chilli flakes
Pepper 1 tsp
Salt to taste

  • Slice the onions and add to a pan with 2 tsp hot vegetable oil. Add a tsp salt and keep stirring, for around 20 minutes, till the onions turn golden brown. It is important that you stir till the onions caramelize. Keep aside
  • In the same pan, saute the assorted vegetables and add pepper and assorted herbs to season. Add the chicken and cook till chicken is almost done, for around 5 minutes. Do not overcook, since this needs to bake as well. Keep aside.
  • In another pan, prepare a basic white sauce by stirring 2 tsp all-purpose flour on a low heat. Add garlic and butter and stir, till a paste is formed. Ensure heat is low.
  • Add the milk while stirring continuously, and then add cream. A thick paste will form.
  • Beat the two eggs and add to this mixture
  • To this, add pepper and the sauteed vegetables and chicken. Add salt to taste. Keep aside.
  • Pour this into  the prepared pie dish and return pie dish to oven.
  • Bake at 150C for 40 minutes, till the crust is nice and golden.

Leave a Reply

